1980 cj5 2bbl carter/ help....

1980 cj5 2bbl carter/ help....

AzOsc80

Jeeper
Thanks
Vehicle(s)
1980 CJ-5, 258 w/ Carter 2bbl, 4 speed, all stock with the exception of 32" tires and a small lift.
Hello everyone and Happy 4th of July!!!!!!

I need some serious help..... I have torn my carb apart making sure everything appears ok and it does but I am no mechanic.

I got my Jeep to idle good, took it for a spin around the block, no hesistation at all. I put the air cleaner back on, tighten it up and it starts to idle high but when I give it throttle, it sputters.......... I know there are some people out there that know what they are doing... anyone want to help????:notworthy::chug:

Hello everyone and Happy 4th of July!!!!!!

I need some serious help..... I have torn my carb apart making sure everything appears ok and it does but I am no mechanic.

I got my Jeep to idle good, took it for a spin around the block, no hesistation at all. I put the air cleaner back on, tighten it up and it starts to idle high but when I give it throttle, it sputters.......... I know there are some people out there that know what they are doing... anyone want to help????:notworthy::chug:

Check to see what the air cleaner is hitting.:D

It's not hitting anything.... I didn't do that before I adjusted the throttle plunger and needle valves..... I am frustrated :p

does it do it with the air cleaner out of the hat box??
if so try a new one or a taller one.
the accelerator pump linkage can hit the underside of the air cleaner if it is off center just a bit.:D