4.0 MPI/Head on my 258

4.0 MPI/Head on my 258

ThisGuyUKnow

Full Time Jeeper
Thanks
Vehicle(s)
1986 CJ7 Laredo 4.0,Nv3550,D300 Twin Stick,AMC20 3.31, 31 BFG
Honda vtx1800c
I just purchased my first CJ7 a few weeks ago. I have been reading up and think I want to do the conversion in my title. I have never done anything like that before however. Just wanted to post here and see if anyone had done it and would be willing to give me a parts break down. I may have a line on a donor 2000 xj but it is an auto and my cj is a manual.. Not sure if that will make a diff in the conversion.... I am firguring on the CPS relocation kit to avoid having to mod the bellhousing or fly wheel. So i figured I might as well get the serpentine from the donor(can i retain my ac compressor if i do that?). What all parts do I exactly need besides the obvious ones to accomplish this project.
13_Jeep09.jpg

Hi ThisGuyUKnow, welcome to the site. :chug:

That's a nice looking CJ you picked up. I don't know of too many people on this site that have done a 4.0 head swap. From what I have read on other sites, it can be be a little tricky to get everything hooked up correctly, but once you get all of the wrinkles ironed out it's a rather reliable set-up. Let us know what you decide, and again welcome to the site.

The build plan is:
1. I have the 4.0 head already set up ready to install. Has a three way valve job no other mods and is coming from a AMC 258 i6 / 4.2l from a member in another forum who did the head swap but is now going a diff direction. This part seems fairly straight forward and i am 98% that i have a good handle on it.

2. MPI from a donor 4.0.