78 cj5 doesnt have room for a fan

78 cj5 doesnt have room for a fan

MYJX

Jeeper
Thanks
Hey guys, Im new to the jeep world and have a few ?'s I picked up a 78 CJ5 a few weeks back for almost nothing. It has a strait 6 in it and runs great but there is no fan. There is not even room for a fan. They have an electric fan fixed to the front of the raidiator. any advice?

Im not sure why there is no room for a fan. Granted theres not alot of room for a mechanical fan with the length of the straight six but they came from the factory with them. Anyway an electric fan is a popular modification so whats the problem? Is it overheating / running hot?

Is the electric fan kicking in when it heats up to normal temps? that right there would be the first thing to check. If it is, then start looking into the thermostat, radiator and water pump (probably in that order).
If it isn't, then check the power and the relay/fan controller, and the temp sensor system for the fan (not always the same as the temp guage).
Let us know what you find.

Hey MYJX and welcome! :chug:

Can you snap some pics for us? I'm a little confused why there wouldn't be any space? It easily should be able to accommodate a mechanical fan... :)

Hey guys, Im new to the jeep world and have a few ?'s I picked up a 78 CJ5 a few weeks back for almost nothing. It has a strait 6 in it and runs great but there is no fan. There is not even room for a fan. They have an electric fan fixed to the front of the raidiator. any advice?

Thanks for the responce guys. I'll try to get some pics posted so you can see what I'm talking about.

OK. here they are.

78 cj5-1.jpg

78 cj5-2.jpg

78 cj5-3.jpg

Wow! That sure is close!

What is that? A Chevy 6? You didn't say it had a swapped in 6! :) LOL

That would explain why there's no room for the mechanical fan, that isn't an AMC straight six, everythings on the opposite side

Just for reference, here's mine with the AMC AMC 258 i6 / 4.2l 268 in it

engine_bay.jpg