AMC 20 axle bearing help

AMC 20 axle bearing help

surfbum

Jeeper
Media
Thanks
Vehicle(s)
79 CJ7... 258 motor... T-18 trans... Dana 20 case... Dana 30 w/ lockrite... AMC 20 w/ detroit and 1 piece axles.
Had a bearing go in my AMC20 axle over the weekend. I was already planning to install 1 piece axles by Moser or Superior and a lockright over the summer. When I pulled the axle out, the bearing and race came out(actually they FELL OUT) in pieces. The end of the tube is grooved and rough where the race would be(I guess). This is my first time opening up a AMC20 . I'm used to GM axles. Since everything fell out, I'm not quite sure what it's supposed to look likeThe pics are not great but I'm looking for a second/third opinion. The axle is probably toast, but my concern is the housing where the race/bearing will ride. I don't want to throw money away. Do you guys think I can save the tube ? Thanks in advance.

Attachments

• April 2011 012.jpg
    April 2011 012.jpg
    84 KB · Views: 3,094
  • April 2011 013.jpg
    April 2011 013.jpg
    83.1 KB · Views: 1,428
  • April 2011 014.jpg
    April 2011 014.jpg
    82.9 KB · Views: 1,360
  • April 2011 015.jpg
    April 2011 015.jpg
    93.7 KB · Views: 891
I can't tell by the pic's, but if it's ate up, it sounds like it's up grade time.

OK....Just tried to get the pass. side off and its worse. I've got all kinds of play in the axle. I can pull the hub in and out almost a half inch.:( My new brake shoes are coated with 80w90 gear lube and to top it off, I can't budge the hub. I had my big puller on there with the impact gun to no avail. Since I've already decided the axles are done, I broke out the flame hammer (AKA Oxy/Acetalene torch) and heated the hub up while I had the impact gun hammering on it.... and STILL NOTHING !!:bang:
Anyone got a line on a narrow trac rear axle with 3.54's ???.... think I'm in the market for one. :censored:
Thanks