buick v6

buick v6

belandscj

Jeeper
Thanks
Vehicle(s)
85 cj7
i just baut a 85 CJ7 with a Dauntless Buick 225 V6 im in iraq rite now sow i cant get up and personal with it. i was wondering what isa good Transmission /xfer case for this, keeping the ps front diff and not doing a flip on the xfer case if there is some thing that will bolt rite up thanx if this is in the wrong place i apologise im new to this stuff

Something is wrong here....An '85 CJ7 should not have a Buick anything in it. Did the PO swap that in?
If it has the stock Dana 300 'Case, I'd keep it. Depending on what tranny it has, its a toss-up on whether to keep it or not?
Can you get someone at home to post pics of it and the drivetrain?

BTW, Thank you for serving your country...

i just baut a 85 CJ7 with a Dauntless Buick 225 V6 im in iraq rite now sow i cant get up and personal with it. i was wondering what isa good Transmission /xfer case for this, keeping the ps front diff and not doing a flip on the xfer case if there is some thing that will bolt rite up thanx if this is in the wrong place i apologise im new to this stuff
I have to agree a bit about the 85
do you mean 65?
if it is a 65 with a 225 v6 you have a jewel of an engine, 155 hp with 225 pounds of torque, the Dauntless Buick 225 V6 v6 is what legends are made of

but, it it is a 65 through 67 it has a T-86 trsnny, not the best, you have a few options, first buy a t 90 and have the guts put in the T-86 case, or find a T-14 ,change the input gear on the tcase and it bolts right on.

if it is a 65 through 71 with a v6 it has a T-18 Transfer Case , good t case , accepts a warn Overdrive and or a pto unit, but both axles will be offset,