Diesel Motors

Diesel Motors

scrambler

Jeeper
Thanks
Vehicle(s)
1981 cj-8 258 4-speed bone stock
I've started looking at getting a diesel truck and doing the veggie oil secondary fuel tank. I've seen on Extreme 4x4 a Samurai they did the conversion and it dawned on my that a small diesel motor would be ideal for a Jeep crawler since they produce really high torq at low rpm's. Does any one have any experience or knowledge on first doing the engine swap to a diesel motor and second using swo or wvo as fuel? Anything would be helpful since I am considering doing this on multiple vehicles. Thanks jeepn crew :notworthy:

I have no experience doing it but I always thought a 4BT cummins would be awesome in a CJ. I have a buddy whose been running homemade bio in a 400,000 mile diesel Jetta for years and lovin' it. Keep us posted with what you get into.

That 4bt swap is pretty common in a jeep and there is tons of info on it on the net.
It's something I've often considered. Also the VW 1.6 - 1.9 engines are a good option.

cummins B4T is an excelent swap, as well as Perkins Diesel turbo 4cyl (used in tractors and skid stears). The VW diesles are best avoided! I've worked on way too many to even remoned one, if well maitained they can go for awhile, but most give never ending head aches.

Another off the wall idea, and possibly easier to find would be a mitso-fuso 4 banger, or even a nissan T133 from diesle scout.

Last edited:
My opinion on diesels...I have owned and own several. I have a diesel 1999 4x4 3/4ton 6.5 turbo diesel Suburban...it gets about 21-23mpg. Also have a Cummins 600 4x4 3500 dodge ram that has amazing power and gets decent mileage..around 18mpg.

I have built a couple of WVO (waste vegetable oil) systems one for my brothers 6.5 diesel dually, I have also built an apple-seed processor for biodiesel at home...the problem now is getting the oil for free.