Failed MA Inspection due to Ball Joints?

Failed MA Inspection due to Ball Joints?

care729

Jeeper
Thanks
Vehicle(s)
'83 CJ7
First post here, did a little searching...

I took my 83 CJ7 in to get a MASS inspection sticker... It failed of course... some little things here and there which they said they would overlook but the main issue was that the ball joints were loose.

The mechanic/inspector said that he shook the wheel and that was how he could tell, otherwise I'd have to make an appt and come in for a full diagnostic $79.

My question is, if my ball joints were loose or messed up, wouldn't I be feeling a wobble in the steering at speed? I just came off a 500 mile trip and noticed very little shakes.

Am I getting worked over? Am I just not noticing the problem? I'm a novice mechanic at best with no tools here, so If I'm going to be replacing anything I'm going to be taking it somewhere on the lsland.

I would think the wobble may be wheel bearings. Need to be packed or replaced...

Have you jacked up the jeep front end and tried to wobble yourself yet? I'd do that, then look to see what's wobbling. If anything... :cool:

:chug:

My question is, if my ball joints were loose or messed up, wouldn't I be feeling a wobble in the steering at speed? I just came off a 500 mile trip and noticed very little shakes.
No. You very well might not notice any wobble unless the ball joints were dangerously loose. Jack up the front of your jeep and pull on the wheel yourself. You may need a friend to shake the wheel so you can look to see what is moving. The ball joints are more involved than if it is the wheel bearings.
Good Luck and let us know what you find.

Then there's the reverse method and you don't need a jack, lay on your back under the steering system and have someone turn the wheel back and forth just the amount of the freeplay and it will be obvious where the issues are.;)