help needed !!!

help needed !!!

jcar

Jeeper
Thanks
hello, i am new to this site and just bought my first jeep. it's a 1979 CJ5 with a 351 w and a 3 speed transmission. its lifted and has 38s on it. i am a novice to jeeps and really dont much about them. i met the guy lastnight that i got if from and looked it over and had my brother-in-law check it out and we drove it. everthing checked out, engine, trans, 4 wheel drive everything was fine. made trade today, on our way (wife and i) to get temp tag and put insurance on was at redlight and jeep made a grinding noise from rear end, cut off, restarted, would go into gear but would not pull ! did it jump transfer case and if so, what caused it ??

Can you take picture of the rear differential? Or do you know what model it is? Are you sure that's where the noise came from?

Hello jcar and welcome to the site! :chug:

I have to agree with kicknjeep - can you tell us what rear end is in the CJ? I bet it is the stock AMC20 and you spun the hub - very common! :(

I'm with Longhorn, If you have an AMC20 rear end, you prolly spun out an axle hub. 38;s and a 351 is a lot to ask from that rear end.

Yep, I did it with a stock AMC 258 i6 / 4.2l , sitting on pavement, trying to go over a speed bump :laugh:

I would also like to see some pic's of the whole jeep. to see how they fit the tires.
If you have 38's & a v8 and still have the stock axles you are going to be breaking things all the time.:mad:

My money is on the HUB, this same thing happened to me and my buddy a few ago on the trail! GRR it sucked! That stock 20 cant handle those tires let alone that 351!! BTW WELCOME TO THE FORUM! :chug: