im new and had a question

im new and had a question

bull346

Jeeper
Thanks
hey everyone i just joined i just bought a 79 CJ7 this week it needs alittle work here and there it has the spings fliped over the axles sitting on 38 inch tires and it has a 355 with a 350 turbo transmission and a 205 transfer case and stock axles and drive shafts what is the first thing i should do to it i am new to jeeps
this is my first one i had toyota's before this

first thought is: how in the heck are the stock axles handling that kinda HP and 38" tires?
Methinks a 1-ton axle swap is in your future!

give us lots of pics on this one, so we can give you a few more ideas.

What do you want to do to it? Sounds like the PO allready fixed you up.

I'd check the suspension mounting area for cracking and around the steering box too.
Power and large tires are cool, but take it easy on the skinny pedal, unless you have a fat wallet.

hey everyone i just joined i just bought a 79 CJ7 this week it needs alittle work here and there it has the spings fliped over the axles sitting on 38 inch tires and it has a 355 with a 350 turbo transmission and a 205 transfer case and stock axles and drive shafts what is the first thing i should do to it i am new to jeeps
this is my first one i had toyota's before this
Hello bull346 and welcome to the world of CJs and the site! :chug:

You say you had Toyotas before but what were done to them? How modified were they? I'm just trying to asses your experience and skill with short wheel based vehicles...

IMHO - I would do nothing to the CJ (except for a very thorough inspection) and then drive it for a while. With so little seat time in the CJ you don't know all the nuances and quirks you have inherited. If you lucky, the SOA was done correctly and it drives and handles well, if not then you'll know soon enough and we can tackle that part first.