Need SBC swap help

Need SBC swap help

Robbp

Jeeper
Thanks
Vehicle(s)
1979 CJ 5 360ci
Hi guys,
well my project '85 CJ7 is truely that...a project. I can break the 4 cyl loose-she is seized tighter than...., so it looks like I need to replace the engine. I have the T-4 tranny and Dana 300 xfer case. I am a weekend warrior mechanic and have either a 305 or a 283 SBC to replace the 2.5 .
My questions are:
Will the T-4 mount right up to the SBC or will I need an adapter?
Will the clutch, pressure plate, flywheel all mount up and work?
What wiring will I need to take care of...as in do I need to add or take wires out?
What are the minimum requirements to get this done.
I realize exhaust is an issue probably better left to the professionals.
Is there a swap out radiator from another make or model of car that will work or do I have to look at new rediators? what hoses work?
Will the steering shaft have to be modified to accomdate the larger engine.
What else am I going to have to do to get this CJ7 on the road?

THanks
Robb

Hi guys,
well my project '85 CJ7 is truely that...a project. I can break the 4 cyl loose-she is seized tighter than...., so it looks like I need to replace the engine. I have the T-4 tranny and Dana 300 xfer case. I am a weekend warrior mechanic and have either a 305 or a 283 SBC to replace the 2.5 .
My questions are:
Will the T-4 mount right up to the SBC or will I need an adapter?
Will the clutch, pressure plate, flywheel all mount up and work?
What wiring will I need to take care of...as in do I need to add or take wires out?
What are the minimum requirements to get this done.
I realize exhaust is an issue probably better left to the professionals.
Is there a swap out radiator from another make or model of car that will work or do I have to look at new rediators? what hoses work?
Will the steering shaft have to be modified to accomdate the larger engine.
What else am I going to have to do to get this CJ7 on the road?

THanks
Robb