New Jeep guy, How do you do a basic carb clean?

New Jeep guy, How do you do a basic carb clean?

GOPDiesel

Jeeper
Thanks
I'm new to Jeep and don't know much about carbs. I'm also a weekend mechanic and know just about enought to get in trouble. I just replaced my fuel pump and filter.

My rig won 't stay running during any type of acceleration. It just dies like it has no gas. I've previously posted here and want to take the advice of taking the carb off the engine and cleaning it. It appears easy to take off,4 bolts and some linkage.

What does it mean to clean it. How do I do a basic clean job on it? I've never done one. I have a Weber 2 barrel. It's a 32/36 DGAV. What does the electrical connnection attached to the round piece do?

Thanks for helping out a new guy.

Pat​

I'm new to Jeep and don't know much about carbs. I'm also a weekend mechanic and know just about enought to get in trouble. I just replaced my fuel pump and filter.

My rig won 't stay running during any type of acceleration. It just dies like it has no gas. I've previously posted here and want to take the advice of taking the carb off the engine and cleaning it. It appears easy to take off,4 bolts and some linkage.

What does it mean to clean it. How do I do a basic clean job on it? I've never done one. I have a Weber 2 barrel. It's a 32/36 DGAV. What does the electrical connnection attached to the round piece do?

Thanks for helping out a new guy.

Pat​

The electrical connection is most likely electronic choke and as far as cleaning it i just re built my 1 barrel carter what you could do is go get a gallon can of that chem-dip carb cleaner and let it sit in there, i would personally just rebuild it.

Do you take the carb apart at all, or just unbolt it from the manifold and drop it in the gallon of clean all in one piece?

Weber Rebuild

this looks like a good place to start.:cool: