OkieJeep74

Jeeper
Thanks
Vehicle(s)
1974 Jeep CJ5 304 V8
Hey guys,

I'm new to the world of the CJ (Already found out i have a lot of work a head of me). I have a Q. about my front diff. I took off the drive shaft, the diff. cover and everything is nasty:eek: (not taken care off by PO), but the only thing that i found broke is a bearing (don't know what bearing). What would be your next step?? I have already replaced the Clutch,starter,header gaskets,drum breaks, so I kind off know my way around tools but as far as diff.s go i have no idea. Any help would be great.

Hello OkieJeep74 and welcome to our site! :chug:

Did you find a complete bearing or just a piece of one? Either way your going to have to pull it apart to figure out what went wrong.

If it is in as bad of shape as you say - I would replace all the bearings - no sense in taking a chance of blowing out that diff when you need it. I would also do a very thorough inspection of the ring and pinion.

If you do pull the carrier, be sure and mark the caps so you can put them back on the same way they cam off (side and orientation).

If it is all shot - might be time to think about a gear change (if you need it) also... :)