Oil Change

Oil Change

WAXER

Jeeper
Thanks
Vehicle(s)
1986 CJ 7, 258 I6, 5 SPD, No MCU, No Ignition Module, No emissions.
Going to do first oil change since PO. What would be the best weight oil to use? AMC 258 i6 / 4.2l w/183K. Also what brand oil filter? (not Fram?).
WAXER

personally, i use 10w30 in the winter 10w40 in the summer valvoline, and purolater filters, i do stay away from fram, (long story). some folks use alot heavier weight oil, some use lighter weight, some use fram, some use wix, alot of its preference. my combo is just the best for me i guess. others will have different opinions and preferences. i will tell you to stay away from Quaker state oil though, after some of the :dung: i've seen gunked up in a motor, i wouldn't use it to oil a bicycle chain.

I've seen this discussion before here. There a lot of opinions. Here's my 2 cents worth. I am a mechanic and I build engines so I'm not just reading this stuff off of the internet. I recomend Shell Rotella 15W40 because the car oil on the shelves nowdays is designed for newer engines with roller cams. They took out anti-scuff components because it wreaked havoc on catalytic converters. Your old engine has flat tappet lifters. It needs the anti-wear stuff. You will get it in Rotella.

How much you drive it will play a part in how important your oil is. If it is a high mileage, daily driver, this anti-wear issue will be important.

I like Motorcraft oil filters. I have cut a lot of filters apart and I too will not buy Fram.

I like rotella in older engines also, although a good syn. like mobil 1 is also good. For a filter I use either K&N or mobil 1.

I was recommended that either the Rotella or Royal Purple oil. 10-40 seemed to be the same recommended by everyone. If using other oils other than the above 2 listed I was told to use a zinc addative with every oilchange.