oil pressure gauge install.

oil pressure gauge install.

simmonsguns

Jeeper
Thanks
Vehicle(s)
zj pos and 1985 cj7 inline 6,stock driveline running 33's and it leaks so it's mostly normal.
Hi all, my stock oil pressure gauge does not function. after spending enough time on this i am going to install a non-electric gauge for reall pressure readings. but, where should i install the fitting on the block? i'm new to this kind of work, i have 25 year old memories of auto shop to help me and lotts of books but i still can't find the answer or picture that helps.if this had a trigger and a barrel i would be set.

If you haven't removed the orig. sender for the orig gauge, do so and install the after market fitting in that threaded hole - the gauge should have come with a few different brass fittings as well as plastic tube for the oil supply, I do recommend tossing the plastic tubing and buying the copper do to the fact that copper will not melt. If you purchase the copper it most likely will not come with farrels, its ok to use the stuff from the kit for the copper line. I hope this helps.

Mark

what he said ^^^ except i'll add that the senders are on the passenger side of the block, if it is a later model it will have 2 senders on the one fitting, one is for the gauge, and one is for the computer controlled carb (i actually think its just a switch but not for sure). you need to remove the larger of the two it'll kinda look like a bell. there isn't really anything on that side of the motor to worry about melting the oil line, its also made of nylon so it really doesn't melt that easy, and it doesn't kink as easy as the copper. my opinion but i'd just go with the nylon.

I have a copper line kit, but I decided to stick with the plastic line for ease of install when I replaced my gauge.