Question about Engine Swap in Houston, Texas

Question about Engine Swap in Houston, Texas

Robertcw4

Jeeper
Thanks
Vehicle(s)
1983 Jeep CJ-7. I-6 256 with standard transmission. Stock.
Hello all. I am new to this forum as this is my first post. I am also new to jeeps. A buddy of mine needed to get rid of his 1983 CJ7 and asked me to purchase it. I have always wanted a jeep so I agreed and now I am starting to figure out what I want to do with it. Unfortunately, I know next to nothing about jeeps nor do i have any mechanical knowledge.

This jeep will be used 90% on my ranch. The terrain is varied, but there is a lot of sand dunes so I am building it with that in mind.

On my list of upgrades, in order of priority are:

1) I would like to upgrade my I-6 (standard Transmission ) to a V-8. Any suggestions as to best motor for the job? I am willing to spend some money to do it "right". What can i expect in terms of costs (all-in, labor, parts, etc). Will this require new Transmission ? Anything else i should know?

2) Adding a suspension lift to accomodate Mickey Thompson 33 / 12.50s.

3) Spray in bed liner.

4) Replace all gauges and return to working order.

And finally, anyone by chance have a recommendation of someone who can perform the engine swap in Houston, Texas?

Any help is greatly appreciated.

Any of the AMC V8's is an easy swap into your CJ...literally a "bolt-in" minus the engine frame mounts, but those can be found or aftermarket ones can be purchased for a little (lot) more money.