SBC Question

SBC Question

Petescj

Lifetime Supporter
Media
Thanks
Vehicle(s)
1982 CJ-7 258 / T-18 / Dana 300 31 in All Terrains.
1978 CJ-7 304 / TH 400 / Quadratrac 32 in Mud Terrains
Is there any "tells" to help me differentiate between the differnt versions of the small block Chevy? Im takin a peek at a cheap Jeep project sometime this week but the guy only knows its a small block chevy. Id like to be able to tell if its a 350 / 327 / 307 / 305 / 283 or what. Heres a pic he sent me but I dont think it'll do much good.

depending on how old the block is most sbc blocks have the displacement cast on the bellhouseing flange on the drivers side if you just look behind the valve cover on the flang it should say 5.0 or 5.7 witch is a 305 or a 350

Thanx. I'll look there when I check it out. Could be another $600 Salvage CJ7 . :D

I couldn't find a displacment flange on my late 70's sbc 305 v8. But here are some pics of my casting numbers and their locations. I'm not a sbc expert, but I originally identified my engine by taking the casting numbers off the intake manifold (Original Cast Iron Only) and searching what intake manifold casting #'s fit what engines/years. Not the most accurate way, but if you can't seem to locate any numbers the intake is easiest to get ahold of. Good Luck

Thanx for the info. That should help.
I couldn't find a displacment flange on my late 70's sbc 305 v8. But here are some pics of my casting numbers and their locations. I'm not a sbc expert, but I originally identified my engine by taking the casting numbers off the intake manifold (Original Cast Iron Only) and searching what intake manifold casting #'s fit what engines/years. Not the most accurate way, but if you can't seem to locate any numbers the intake is easiest to get ahold of. Good Luck