stuck in the wrong place!!

stuck in the wrong place!!

rex

Jeeper
Thanks
Vehicle(s)
74 Cj5 i6
i would much rather be stuck in 3ft of mud but.....im stuck in the garage!! Im new to the site hope you all can help me out. Im new to jeeps and more importantly this is my first standard trany, i know nothing about them. My problem is that it will go into R12&3, but not neutral. Also went in R the tires will spin but the jeep wont move. I tried in all 4X4 gears also. each time different tires would spin but she wont budge. help.

# 1- if you can go through the gears- you have neutral- it is the dead spot between gears- there is no neutral gear spot.
# 2- if just the rear tires are spinning when you try to move you probably have a locked up front brake caliper or wheel bearing- jack up the front end and see if the wheels turn freely. If all the wheels spin one at a time- you got me:confused:

i would much rather be stuck in 3ft of mud but.....im stuck in the garage!! Im new to the site hope you all can help me out. Im new to jeeps and more importantly this is my first standard trany, i know nothing about them. My problem is that it will go into R12&3, but not neutral. Also went in R the tires will spin but the jeep wont move. I tried in all 4X4 gears also. each time different tires would spin but she wont budge. help.

Front & back tires spin at different times, or did I misunderstand?:confused:
Do you know any history on this vehicle?

Which tires spin in 4x4 low?

# 1- if you can go through the gears- you have neutral- it is the dead spot between gears- there is no neutral gear spot.
# 2- if just the rear tires are spinning when you try to move you probably have a locked up front brake caliper or wheel bearing- jack up the front end and see if the wheels turn freely. If all the wheels spin one at a time- you got me:confused:

X2 All I can think of is one of your wheels are locked up.