Transmission Advice

Transmission Advice

dozerboss

Jeeper
Thanks
I am new to the jeep world and am looking for some advice. I am building a CJ5 and am looking for some advice. The first thing I am going to have to do is learn how to use this forum as I believe all my questions can be answered here by you all. My first question is this, I have put a 1979 Buick 3.8L engine in my 1966 CJ5 . Behind it I currently have a T-14 with a Dana 20 . Both have been completely rebuilt. I am not happy with the T-14 because it is so low geared which limits my top end speed. I am not looking to haul the mail, but would like some advice on some other Transmission options. My gear ratio in the front and the rear are both 3.73. The T-14 is nice for offroad use, but I am rapped out at 40 mph. I would like another gear. Any advice would help as I am so new to the Jeep world so my knowledge is Limited . I appriciate your time.

but I am rapped out at 40 mph.

Sounds like you're still in low range. Seriously. Dana 20 lever should be:T14.jpg

What size tires are you running?

I could get 70 with 4.27s and stock 28" tall tires. Screaming. That's what it came with from the factory on mine.

I really don't think it's the T-14 & Dana 20 .Engine RPM isn't in the equation either.

Yea after I referenced the rpm's I new I was off track. I have 31" Tires. So with the Dana 20 what position should it be in when out on the road? I have never had a Dana 20 so this is all new to me. Thanks alot for your help.

I dunno....My '65 was pretty rapped out at 40-50mph. (stock everything) :(

I see you're from Boise, welcome to the board :cool:

2-WD high the most forward position.
Does the T-14 not have a 1:1 high gear??
Boy, if your doing 40 in 4 low you must really be screaming.:cool: