Thanks
Vehicle(s)
1976 CJ-7
4.2L AMC I6
Borg-Warner T-4
Dana 20 Transfer Case
Dana 30 front
2-piece AMC 20 rear
I have a 1976 CJ7 and love it. Recently though, as old men are prone to, it began shaking and I just can't pin down where it's coming from, so I was hoping to get y'alls opinion on it. I'm relatively new to CJs and since you guys seem to know them inside out I figured you'd know what to do.

It happens at every speed and in every gear. It seems to be associated with how far the gas pedal is pressed. The farther down the gas pedal is, the worse it shakes. I can get up to speed by accelerating really slowly, but obviously I cant do that with city driving. As far as I can tell it's in the front end, but I can't figure out where.

So there it is, if you think you know what it is, or if you need more information/clarification, let me know. I'll be happy to provide pictures of whatever you like as well. Thanks in advance!!!

Have you checked the tires to see if you have thrown a wheel weight or maybe busted a belt in a tire?

When was the last time you checked tie rod, ball joint, drag link and steering box play? Sounds like a hardware issue to me. What about shackle bushings and steering shaft couplers?

Have you checked the tires to see if you have thrown a wheel weight or maybe busted a belt in a tire?

I'm actually swapping out for a set of Fierce Attitude M/T's so if that's it it'll get fixed soon, but wouldn't that cause vibration by speed and not gas pedal usage?

When was the last time you checked tie rod, ball joint, drag link and steering box play? Sounds like a hardware issue to me. What about shackle bushings and steering shaft couplers?