jeepweasel

Jeeper
Thanks
Vehicle(s)
1976 CJ-5 w/ 304 and T-150.
Newbie here. I have a 1976 CJ5 with a bad 304. I want to drop in a 360. o I need to look for a particualr black or will any 1971-1977 block work?

Any amc/Jeep 360 will work, even thru the later 80's Grand Wagoneers which should be fairly easy to find. You will need a Flywheel (or flexplate if your running an auto) from a 360 for proper balance, do not reuse the one from the 304.

Try to find one with the 4 bolt harmonic balancer pulley. Its the later years, but I don't know what the range is. I have an early 3 bolt version, and its a pain trying to find some misc parts for it. I had a nice complete NOS A/C conversion kit that I had to sell because it wouldn't fit my engine :(

My '77 401 has a 4 bolt balancer pulley...so you can go back pretty far.
Try to get something past 78 though....anything before that has the prestolight ignition....you will have to change out the dizzy and the control module to Duraspark, to get it into the 20th century :D

Will a 1990 360 out of a Wagoneer work?
Jeepweasel, you need to fill out your profile as requested in this thread http://www.jeep-cj.com/forums/f15/your-profile-3975/ that your were directed to and read when you signed up with this forum. Without this information we cannot / do not know information that is required to help you.

Do you mean a Grand Wagoneer? Jeep stopped making the standard Wagoneer in 1984.

If it is a Grand Wagoneer the 360 will work providing that your transmission is the same type. If the GW has and auto and your CJ has a stick, you will need the correct fly wheel (see why have to fill out your profile?).

Sorry, I have filled out my profile.