85 won't start!

85 won't start!

LuvMyCJ

Jeeper
Thanks
Vehicle(s)
Stock 1985 CJ7
Hi all,

I'm new to Jeeps and the forum so please bear with me. On saturday, I installed a new choke pull off and a stock air cleaner. The old choke pull off was all "brown" and the old air cleaner was MIA. It started fine and I was able to drive it a little ways but then it cut off and wouldn't start back up. With help from a passerby, I pushed it in to a parking lot. I took off the air cleaner lid and she finally started and I made it to my destination without any more problems. 30 mins later, I couldn't get it to start again. After about 2 more hours, it started again but I only got a block before it cut off. I took the air cleaner all the way off but but still haven't been able to get it started again. Yesterday I changed the fuel filter because it was mentioned on a different forum as a potential problem. Thoughts, ideas and advice are all much appreciated!

Yes. After I installed the choke pull-off, but before I put on the air cleaner, I had to make a trip to an auto parts store. It went there and back home just fine.

Unless the air cleaner is hitting the choke lever, I'm pretty sure your pulloff is not adjusted correctly. You just cant slap one back on the carb, they have to be setup individually.

I'm looking for the instructions I posted a year a so ago on setting the pulloff up. :)

Unless the air cleaner is hitting the choke lever, I'm pretty sure your pulloff is not adjusted correctly. You just cant slap one back on the carb, they have to be setup individually.

I'm looking for the instructions I posted a year a so ago on setting the pulloff up. :)

Great! Thanks :eek:

Can't find the post so I'll post it again... :)