AMC 304... What carb you running?

AMC 304... What carb you running?

Drucifer

Jeeper
Thanks
Vehicle(s)
79 CJ7. AMC 304 Auto Trans. Everything else is stock as far as I can tell, for now...

07 H3, 07 Harley Davidson FatBoy
Just picked up my project. PO had recently installed a Holley 4 bbl. I have a pal that says I should be running an Edelbrock and that they are easier to tweak. Engine is an AMC 304 with some sort of performance intake manifold.

What's everyone's thoughts on this? Regrettably, I cant give model numbers, etc... right now. I know they are both a solid piece and lots of guys run both of them. I'm fairly new to engine work and want to get a good grasp of this before I jump.

Input appreciated!

Just picked up my project. PO had recently installed a Holley 4 bbl. I have a pal that says I should be running an Edelbrock and that they are easier to tweak. Engine is an AMC 304 with some sort of performance intake manifold.

What's everyone's thoughts on this? Regrettably, I cant give model numbers, etc... right now. I know they are both a solid piece and lots of guys run both of them. I'm fairly new to engine work and want to get a good grasp of this before I jump.

Input appreciated!

Holley's are easier to rebuild and adjust jetting. edelbrock is pretty good out of the box. Are you having a problem with yours? The biggest thing people do is throw a intake and carb on a stock 304 thats way to big for it. theres not need for a 750 carb and a intake that makes power in the 4-6000 rpm range. Best thing for you to do is find out what you have for intake and carb and let us know.

Jim,
Thanks. Took her on her maiden voyage today. Turns out, she's just cold blooded... Once she warmed up a bit everything ran as it should. Thinking about replacing all vacuum lines instead of the carb. PO had mentioned something about vacuum being "meh" until she warms up. May just be a function of an old 304!

Thanks for the input. Sticking with the holley for now.