Another Identification Question

Another Identification Question

51 CJ3

Jeeper
Thanks
Vehicle(s)
CJ3A
Hi everyone, I'm new to the Willys Jeep world and have an unbelievable amount to learn. The first thing I'm trying to figure out exactly what I bought last week. I have a clear title that says it's a 1951 CJ3a and a matching 451-GB1 VIN tag on the firewall. However, right below the VIN tag is a body id tag that reads J-2A 81296. I have yet to locate the frame number. I followed some links posted in other threads and it seems to me I have a CJ2a tub with a CJ3a windshield but I wanted to ask some more experienced people before I jump to any conclusions.

Thanks,
Jeff

Last edited:
In '53 they only made the CJ3a which had a windshield like yours. But the serial number tag does make it look like a CJ2a body. I agree it is confusing.
http://www.jeep-cj.com/forums/f7/jeep-cj-models-9098/
The serial number 81296 looks like it's a 1946 CJ2a . Check out this link: 45-49 CJ2A Serial & Number Information Page
I come up with the same year on this site too:
The CJ2A Page -- History of the CJ2A
Those top bow storage brackets on the left side of the body say it's a CJ2a .
5495d1306353077-another-identification-question-img_0065.jpg

Here is a really good web page to tell the differences between a CJ2a and a CJ3a : CJ2A and CJ3A differences

I agree with your suspicions, it looks like you have a 1946 CJ2a body with a CJ3a windshield.

Check out the above link and look at your engine mounts to see if the frame is a CJ2a or a CJ3a