Brake light won't go out

Brake light won't go out

echo196886

Jeeper
Media
Thanks
Vehicle(s)
1980 CJ7, In-line 6, 4.2L.
HI all, Im working on a 1980 CJ7 . My master cylinder was leaking into my power brake booster so I switched them out. The guy at the parts store told me that since I was going to bleed the brakes anyway I did not need to bench bleed the master cylinder. Now my brakes have been bled twice and my brake lights will not go off. In addition I still have no brakes. I plan to bleed the brakes again today since I have never done it before and am sure I did something wrong the first time. Any thoughts?

I hate to say it but the guy at the parts house is dumb @$$. You should always bench bleed a new master cylinder other wise it takes forever to get all of the air out of the hole system.

I agree with mtnwhlr, if you replace the master cylinder you should bench bleed the master then bleed each brake.
If you don't bench bleed the master you will get a lot of air in the system that must then be bled out. It's better to avoid getting that much air in the system that must get bled out.

So now the brake lights are on? I assume you are taking about the lights in back not the brake light on the dash. The brake lights in back come on when the brake pedal isn't all the way up.

I agree with mtnwhlr, if you replace the master cylinder you should bench bleed the master then bleed each brake.
If you don't bench bleed the master you will get a lot of air in the system that must then be bled out. It's better to avoid getting that much air in the system that must get bled out.

So now the brake lights are on? I assume you are taking about the lights in back not the brake light on the dash. The brake lights in back come on when the brake pedal isn't all the way up.

This or it could be the brake switch.