Dana 300 T-case

Dana 300 T-case

Roy Gardner

Jeeper
Thanks
Vehicle(s)
1981 Jeep CJ7
Hey guys first day here...... Looking for some professional help, although I am an ase certified tech.... I DON'T KNOW IT ALL.... LOL.
I have a 1981 Jeep CJ7 inline 6, SR4 Transmission , Dana 300 t-case. Just did a reseal on the Transmission and t-case to eliminate some leaks........ NEW concern...... In 4 HI In third and fourth gear I have a ratcheting noise coming from the t-case especially on decel. If I shift the case from 4 to 2 and back into 4 sometimes it is gone. Now when I did the re seal I removed a .002 shim from the fromt output drive to add a little more load on the bearings...... Something tells me that this is where my prob is.
Any thoughts?????

You know I haven't ever re-built one myself. I seen this earlier and was hoping another "builder" might have better info for you.

I would say if it didn't do it before, just leaked, and you took the spacer out, and now it does it, I would try correcting what you changed. I'm not sure if you'd need a new spacer / shim or re-use the one you took out etc, but i would do that.

Now again, I do not know squat about the Dana 300 , and have never fully re-built a Transfer Case as of yet, so what do I know! :D:D

oh and :ww: to the site! hope you stick around!

:chug:
~Jr