Engine Does Anyone have the Schematic for the Prestolite Ignition Control Module Board ('76 CJ-7)?

Engine Does Anyone have the Schematic for the Prestolite Ignition Control Module Board ('76 CJ-7)?

iChuck12

Jeeper
Thanks
Vehicle(s)
'78 CJ-7, 258, TH400, BW 1339 QuadraTrac, D20 Rear, D25 Front Diff(?)
Hi Jeep People-
Long time reader, first time posting.

I've been reading previous posts about how the factory Prestolite modules get hot and quit working. I bought a '76 CJ7 for parts and sure enough, the module had melted pretty good.

I'd like to take a crack at rebuilding it. I know I can get a new one for cheap, or replace the whole system, but as an electrical engineer I thought it might be a fun challenge. I was able to heat up the goo in the module enough that it released the board. Although not in the pictures (attached), there's an obvious burned component. Before I create a schematic from scratch to figure out what the component was (it's burned beyond recognition) I thought I'd see if there was a schematic for the unit floating around.

Thanks in advance for any information.

Chuck

image0.jpeg

image1.jpeg

• Thanks for the Post!
Reactions: CJ
I have searched high and low but no information... :(

Interesting project though... :chug:
Thanks for looking, CJ. I'm having trouble with a few of the components (the tar stuff dissolved the numbers), but I'm hoping to map it to a schematic and just leave the unknown components as question marks. Still might be able to do it.

• Thanks for the Post!
Reactions: CJ
Thanks for looking, CJ. I'm having trouble with a few of the components (the tar stuff dissolved the numbers), but I'm hoping to map it to a schematic and just leave the unknown components as question marks. Still might be able to do it.
This is an interesting project. As an ex engineer who used to repair computer boards for 1st gen CNC machines in the late 70's / 80's I also like to fix things.
Nothing beats a cold shot for finding thermo problems!