Duel Batteries???

Duel Batteries???

poppatello

Senior Jeeper
Thanks
Vehicle(s)
84 Cj, 4 Banger, 4.5 BDS Lift, 35" KM2, Twin Stick, Nuttered...
I started playing around with the Cj again. It's been about a month since I started her up and the last time the battery needed a jump. Well this time it wouldn't do anything. I noticed the terminals were a bit dirty so I tried to pull the terminals off to clean them and I popped the positive battery post off the battery!

I just removed the positive battery cable from the solenoid and left it on the battery. When I pulled it out the tray was in pretty bad shape so I figure I mind as well replace it.

Now the question is do I install a duel battery tray or do I not need two batteries? The only really thing I will have on the jeep will be the old Warn 8274 and OBA. The OBA will be belt driven though. I will have two windshield hinge mounted lights as well.

I was thinking of just getting a color top battery and installing a high output alternator instead of running two batteries. I know there was a post somewhere about the Junkyard electrical junkie about wiring and no need for duel batteries. I want to know what you folks are doing though.

Duel tray is 200 bucks vs 40 for the OEM single tray...

If you do a lot of serious winching go for the dual battery setup. For just an occasional tug for getting yourself or someone out of trouble one battery will be just fine. I don't think that there are too many "Winch required" trails out there anyway. Your wiring sounds like it could use some help also. When you are winching keep an eye on the voltmeter though, since a lot of use can drain a battery quite easily. My Warn 9500 draws 425 amps at full load. I don't think much of those high output alternators since a battery can only charge at a certain rate.

I think is's all in the batt you run I only use Optima red our yellow in every thing I have they cost more but you get what you pay for.