Hello From Bama

Hello From Bama

jaytee51395

Jeeper
Media
Thanks
Vehicle(s)
I just got my cj7 it is an 81 model. has the 304. not sure about anything else. I am just getting into the cj so yeah I am a newbie.Any help or suggestions would be greatly appreciated
Hello Everyone,

I am Jason from Montgomery, Alabama. I joined the sight today for a little insight.I am new to the world of Jeep and I have recently purchased an 81 CJ7 with the AMC 304 v8.I am looking forward to getting her running BETTER haha.I have a fuel issue apparently.It has a motorcraft 2100 carb i think.Recently had it rebuilt.I have put a new manual fuel pump on her and replaced the fuel filter and it has a new sending unit. The old Jeep did sit for awhile but I emptied old fuel out when I replaced the sending unit. My cj runs great for a few minutes, but eventually starts spitting and sputtering like she is still fuel starved or either flooding??? My mechanic suggested running a few tanks of gas through her and see if she straightens out. When I replaced the fuel filter this morning the fuel looked fine though.No discoloration or anything. I am guessing the carb isn't quiet adjusted right?Anyone like to share any insight on what the issue could be? After a few minutes of spitting and sputtering she will eventually cut off. Normally it will start right back up.Also first thing in the morning it will hardly start at all which is why I replaced the fuel pump.I figured fuel pressure must be bad and maybe the diaphram in the fuel pump was bad allowing fuel to settle back to the tank. Please please lol, a little help please?

I would try running the CJ from a 1 gallon fuel tank and see what happens, wou will then find out if it's an old fuel problem or a delivery problem.

Also check the float bowl for trash.