running very lean!!! Is it from a cracked Exhaust Manifold

running very lean!!! Is it from a cracked Exhaust Manifold

GSMC

Jeeper
Thanks
Vehicle(s)
1981 CJ7 258 (4.2), 4 speed
Hello everyone, I just joined so let me know if I did not do something required. I am new to the jeep world, bought my first jeep as a project. So far, there has been a lot of problems, but I need help with this one. I can not get the AMC 258 i6 / 4.2l to idle good or run right. It is very lean, and when I spray carb cleaner near the intake manifold where it bolts up, it revs up. I assumed a bad gasket, but after I pulled the intake and exhaust, I found a crack in the exhaust manifold in the center where all 6 collect. I did not find any abvious gasket leaks or problems with the intake. My question is, can a large crack in the exhaust manifold cause a vacuum leak to be sucked back into the exhaust valves? I have heard of this being possible. Has anyone else seen this, the exhaust manifold was white on the inside due to lean run. The low speed screws are out 3.5 turns each. Any thoughts?

No expert but can't see that being the case unless it were the intake manifold but that's obvious. The reving up when sprayed may have been a poor seal with the intake/head as this a problem area. Sounds like you need to replace it anyway with a good one, reinstall with a fresh gasket and go from there. just my 2c.

Oh ya...Welcome to site!

Last edited:
Agreed, I am looking for a used or new exhaust manifold now. Any suggestions on headers or stock manifold?