sand blasting

sand blasting

channing

Jeeper
Thanks
Vehicle(s)
1980 cj5 golden eagle All stock at the moment.
Ok this might be a dumb question but i just didnt know. so here goes i have a 79 CJ5 i am starting a restore bt not a full body off frame... i am just posting treads trying to get all my ducks in a row before i even start the restoration..but i have a question i have a cheap sand blaster would it be ok if i some what blasted the frame with out taking the body off or would that cause more problems in the long run.. i was thinking about blasting it and cleaning it up and just puttin that plastic kote liner on it... any advice would help bad or good thank yall and this wed site has helped me so much i am a rookie at this and this is my first and not last restore. this is something that i love....

i feel that you wouldnt be satisfied blasting the frame without taking everything off of it. might mess up something and pack sand in bad places. i just took a steel brush and cleaned up as much as i could and went over it with some rubber stuff

Nothing wrong with it albeit not as good as a frame off blast. I've done a few that way and felt good about it. Use playground sand (a lot cheaper) and just blow out all the debris when you're done. Its just the underside but use your best media and most time at the fender wells first.

thank yall for both of your opinions and what yall think i should do i am undicided still but i have a long way to go for preparation before i even start my first job.. i am following the advice somone posted on one of my other treads about what to do on starting a restore... and i am gonna take the time for prep and try and do my best on this jeep... oh and if yall know anything about paint or know someone that does i have another tread titled what color!!!!! thank yall for your help

Personaly I think it would be foolish to sandblast without removing the tub, For so many reasons I can't count em all. :D