scout II running gear

scout II running gear

Bob

Jeeper
Thanks
Vehicle(s)
1974 cj5 304 3spd.
I am new to the jeep world with a 74 CJ5 w/AMC 304 3spd. supposed 30 fr. and 44 rear. I am planning on installing lockers, front discs, 4spd. I have scout II Transmission , transfer and fr. and rear Dana 44 w/ 4;10 and front disc. Is my current front axle desirable or should I go w/ scout axles.

Use the Scout axles. CJ owners look high and low for Scouts just for the sake of those axles. Those are much better axles than what you have. Dana 44 is a common axle but when you find them in a junk yard they are usually on a pickup and are too wide for a CJ. The Scout axles will be an easy swap.

You say you already have a Dana 44 in the rear. What gears are in it? If it doesn't match the Scout axles it will be easier to swap out than to regear.
I would swap out both axles.

Last edited:
I bought scout axles as well for my CJ8 project. Two issues with the front end. The springs need to be outboarded on the frame and also the knuckles need to be cut and rotated for proper caster. The work is well worth it for these lite and strong units.

I bought scout axles as well for my CJ8 project. Two issues with the front end. The springs need to be outboarded on the frame and also the knuckles need to be cut and rotated for proper caster. The work is well worth it for these lite and strong units.
I have heard of people that have only moved the spring perches. I guess they made a compromise between the ideal U-Joint angle and the ideal caster. Best not to make compromises.

there is nothing "wrong" with what you have. need more info to make a call on this, what is your plan for ratio, tire size, etc.
The 30 needs disks, no matter what but a lunch box locker in the front is a good thing.
Scout will widen your stance, thats a good thing but it increases turn radius.
Nothing wrong about a Dana 44 , Disks and a good selective locker is as good as it gets.