Slave Cylinder Leaking

KcSolomon

Jeeper
Media
Thanks
Vehicle(s)
1970 Jeep CJ5, V6, Manual
Hello everyone,

I am new to jeep-cj.com. I have a 1970 CJ5 I bought off craigslist back in November. I got a steel on it. The person I bought it off of was in the process of restoring it but was not doing a very good job. they had the electrical system completely wrong. Turning on the right turn signal made everything blinked. I got the electrical system mostly corrected in one afternoon. A little carburetor adjusting and It runs like a top.
There are leeks everywhere on my jeep; oil, brakes, power steering and now clutch. It was working fine untill I was on my way home from the Gym this morning. I was pulling up to a red light and could not get my jeep out of gear I had to shut it off to keep from rolling out into traffic. When I started it back up I had to fight it back into gear. I was only a half mile from home so I was able to drive the rest of the way home without shifting out of second gear.
When I got it home, I opened the hood and found the clutch reservoir empty. I took my truck down to the quick stop and bought some DOT3 break fluid and refilled the reservoir. I bled the slave cylinder till I got a steady flow, topped off the fluid and drove the CJ to work. I made it in fine but when it came time to come home it started getting hard to change out of and into gear. By the time I got it home I could not get it out of gear and had to shut it off to stop.
The reservoir had only leaked down 1/4 inch. I climbed underneath and found the boot on the push rod very loose and when I moved it there was a lot of fluid that came out.
Should I replace the slave cylinder, the boot, is their a o ring in their I can replace? What is the next step and what should I pick up at the parts store? Is their anything I should look at or change while I am under there?