SR4 transmission rebuild question

SR4 transmission rebuild question

stoney bones

Active Jeeper
Thanks
Vehicle(s)
81 CJ7

258ci, mc2100 ,SR4 trans, dana 300 Tcase, dana 30 front, amc 20 2 piece rear
Well i had long post typed out but it was boring me so i knew it would bore all of you. so, to sum it all up for you....

for a complete beginner, what is the difficulty rating for rebuilding this transmission myself? Time estimate?

local trans shops are quoting me 600 - 1000 for them to do. novak has fresh t18 with adapter for 1580.

just trying to decide my best option. if i can get away with rebuilding this sr4 on my own for the cost of a kit it would allow to be more patient in waiting for a nice used t18 on craigs list and potentially save a butt load of cash.

what do you think?

1 Go to Atlanta GA craigslist,
2 go to the autoparts section and search jeep CJ7
3 look for an add from Cartersville GA.
4 His name is Jody and he parts out lots of 7s
5 He has a T176 listed for $350
6 He will sell you the correct driveshafts too.
7 Good Luck

The shops will usually quote you a much better price for a "bench" rebuild where you remove from the jeep and take it to them to do then reinstall yourself... Thats what i did...

If you've got the cash and time, the 18 would obviously be a lot nicer :cool:

Dont know much about the sr4 but most tranny rebuilds ive read are easy, with the right tools:drool:
:chug:

the $600 - $1000 quote was if it was already removed lol

Are any gears broken?

not sure, havnt peered into it yet. there was a good bit of grinding after the clutch went out and first trying to re-engage gear while moving.

All of the parts are available from Crown. The gears are the most expensive parts, About $100 each. Hub assembles,bearings, seals and gaskets are inexpensive. It would be impossible for an accurate estimate without knowing what parts you need. As a bench job, worse case would be around four hours labor.