Turbo 350 Shifter Options

Turbo 350 Shifter Options

rfonte7

Jeeper
Media
Thanks
Vehicle(s)
78 cj7, SOA with 1.5 lift springs, (stock to my knowledge) SBC350, th350, 203 trans case, stock front and rear axles 3:73's, superior 1 pc in rear, 33 x13.50 swampers
Hey guys, you always have helped me out so I'm gonna try this one on you. The PO put a B&M ratchet shifter in my jeep with a 350/350 combo. I don't care much for the shifter. Is there another option I can install? I don't like it because it is so hard to put into gear and shifts so hard. From 1st to second it breaks your neck, 2nd to third is smoother. Then finding park and reverse is always a chore. Maybe it just isn't adjusted right? Im a newbie so maybe you guys have some insight. Thanks so much!!!

The shifter has no effect on how hard the Transmission goes from gear to gear. That is controlled by the valve body inside the Transmission . Sounds like a drag kit was installed, it makes the Transmission shift fast and hard.

Unfortunately, most kits modify the valve body plate (the this metal spacer between the body and the Transmission ) and usually the governor spring is replaced also. Unless you want to buy a new plate and spring and have a good Transmission manual so you know where to put the check balls - your out of luck fixing this.

Transmission work isn't difficult, but you will need the correct documentation to put it back pre-shift kit

If your not up to it, any good Transmission shop should be able to do this quickly.

^^^what he said^^^
There are also some shift kits that require you to use a small drill to open some passages, if that was done there's no going back.:eek:
If you have an adjustable vacume modulator you might be able to adjust it so it shifts a little easier. (follow the vacume hose down from the engine, take the hose off and see if there's a screwdriver slot inside.)

There's all kinds of shifters made for a 350 just go to summit racing or jegs to check them out.