Unable to Get Into Gear

Unable to Get Into Gear

JeffWalden

Jeeper
Thanks
Vehicle(s)
1986 CJ7
2012 Grand Cherokee
Recently it's been more difficult to shift into gear, namely 1st and 2nd. I had to almost put all of my body weight into it to get the shifter into place, though no grinding. The last few rides though, trying to get into reverse has had grinding.

Then it got worse. Today, I can't seem to get into any gear except reverse (with grinding). When I did get it into reverse, didn't matter that I had the clutch pedal completely to the floor - the truck lurched backwards.

This is my first time working on a car with a clutch, so please excuse the ignorance here. Am I correct in assuming the best place to start here is going to be the clutch or the clutch cable? In my logic, if the clutch wasn't being engaged it makes sense that it was tough to get into gear. Even with the clutch pedal to the floor, it seems that the clutch wasn't disengaged which is why I lurched backwards.

Looking for the best place to start here. Let me know if I'm missing something obvious to report.

Thanks!

I think you are on the right track. With the engine off can you put it in gear? With it in gear and the clutch pressed does it move when you try and start it. You said it had a clutch cable I had a truck with a clutch cable and had the same problem and it was that the cable had become stretched I replaced the cable and it worked fine afterwards. Hope this helps.

Went outside to take another look and give it a try because it's driving me nuts. At the moment, it seems to be stuck in reverse. No amount of pushing on the shifting lever is going to move it out. Contrary to my original post, the clutch pedal seems to have be engaging/disengaging the clutch as I was able to let it out and move the truck backwards.

Attempting to change the other lever (4L N 2H 4H) into neutral is essentially just as useless as shifting gears. It seems to be stuck in 4 low.