V8 engines??

What gears do you have in it and what size tire do you run?

what carb, what ignition system, stock head??

I'm fairly new to the Jeep world. I have a 79 CJ7 . .AMC 258 i6 / 4.2l with a T-150 . My question is what V8's will work with that Transmission ??

1972 to 1986 AMC I6 & V8s all use a common bell housing bolt pattern making them interchangeable with one another. The swap in of an AMC 304 , 360, and 401 in lieu of the AMC I6 is as close to a direct bolt in as you can get; only the passenger side motor mount needs to be moved. AMC 360s are easy to find and cheap in the bone yard and Craig’s List; they provided plenty of power for a CJ. With this swap even your existing clutch will bolt right on. One caveat though, the AMC V8s are all externally balanced, and balanced separately from one another requiring the proper flywheel. (Meaning an AMC 304 flywheel will not work on a 360 or 401 and vice versa; only a flywheel balanced for the respective engine will work.) New flywheels are readily available.

the flywheels for the 360's and 401's are alot easier to find and cheaper than ones for the AMC 304 . trust me i've been looking for one for a while and the only one that i've found is like 400 bucks. the ones for the 360's and 401's can be gotten at most parts houses. for like 100 bucks.

Last edited:
I will say nothing against a AMC 304 , 390,401, other than it would seem to be a great deal of work with what I would consider minimal return. this , of course, assuming you have a AMC 258 i6 / 4.2l now.

for a very dramatic return, start with the ignition. the JYG distributor upgrade gives remarkable bang for your buck. I noticed a marked increase in performance for not much more than the price of a good tune up.

the 4.0 head upgrade is great and a good valve job is always a good idea. there was someone in this forum that did actually pick up 30 something horses on a dyno. fact, I saw the print out, or at least a picture of it.