Widest axles on a CJ5?

kidd79

Jeeper
Media
Thanks
Vehicle(s)
Stock 85 cj7 258 29"super swampers
Guys..
I want to put the widest (best) axles that will fit under my stock CJ5 . I want to also do a SOA upgrade, running the stock Spring setup. I have Limited welding experience, and realize that spring perches will need to be moved and welded to accommodate the wider axles.
My question is, what are the widest axles, and easiest to put in my jeep, and which vehicle to go look for in the salvage yard to get them from? Currently running 31x10.50 15's.. Plan on running no taller than 35's. The jeep will be running through fairly level mud flats, and the occasional sand dune's. Thanks in advance.

You could get a kit to install full width axles on your CJ.
Poly Performance JEEP/TRUCK & BUGGY*::*Suspension*::*Suspension & Lift Kits*::*Jeep Suspension Systems*::*1976-1986 Jeep CJ Suspesnion Systems*::*Poison Spyder Customs*::*Poison Spyder Jeep CJ Full Width Axle Conversion Kit - 4X4 Off-Road Parts, JK S
POI-11-20-010-E-400.jpg

POI-11-20-010-D-400.jpg

SOA gives you 6 inches of lift. That's a lot of height. Getting full width axles would help regain the stability.
Most of the tires would then be outside the fenders so check local laws before you start this project.
POI-11-20-010-C-400.jpg

Thanks for the link.. That looks like it would be fairly easy to install, and then just bolt up some axles. Gonna have to go cruising the salvage yards for axles that fit the dimensions from the website. Thanks bro!!

early ( 70's to early 80's) chevy and dodge will both have pass. side pumpkins and the spring perches will be for SOA. Look for one with high steer knuckles.

Thanks Old Dog.
How much wider would those axles be.. Looking to get the tires as far outside the fenders as I can possibly go.. My goal for this particular Jeep is to sling as much mud as one possibly can, with a jeep. I wanna get mudday! LOL.