76 304 TFI DuraSpark upgrade

76 304 TFI DuraSpark upgrade
Media
Thanks
Vehicle(s)
76 CJ5 304 all stock T-150 D20 4.10 gears
First thing was researching thru articles after articles and deciding on the DuraSpark or the HEI module. I chose the DuraSpark simply because I wanted a clean factory look and I did not want to fabricate a box and heat sink needed for the HEI module. I also like the sealed system of the DuraSpark module. Keep in mind this is a mid level upgrade, and argued the HEI is more appropreate upgrade designed for the use of the e-coil without the need of a resistor wire or resistor pot. My plan is to adventually install the resistor wire and eleminate the resistor pot. This is a complete system designed from scratch spacifically intended to replace the Prestolite ignition system.

I have been running this system for two years and simply love it, it is really nice to know when I turn the key my old Jeep starts!

TeamRush, JunkYardGenius, have some very good in-depth articles on the swaps.

I am more of a picture person, diagrams and drawing don’t always make since to me. I could not find a good picture step by step layout of the project for the V-8, just the I-6. So I will attempt to help out those like me. I also enlisted the help of my good friend Greg Fody.

I could have done the upgrade cheaper but I figured that I am doing this for a reason so I opted for top of the line parts. I bought the distributor from NAPA (79 AMC 304 part #48-4891) since I have never had any luck with other remanufactured distributors. The distributor was about $20.00 more but you get what you pay for.

I got the base, large cap and tall rotor for the distributor from SummitRacing.com as a package (part #MSD-8414) and the MSD 8MM Heli-Core plug wires (part# MSD-3119 ).