Clutch Do I have a clutch problem?

Clutch Do I have a clutch problem?

shooby

Jeeper
Media
Thanks
Vehicle(s)
1978 CJ5
360 V8, T18,D20,Teralows,D30 w/OX, AMC 20 w/OX, 1 piece Moser, 33"BFGs, Howell TBI, Mallory HEI
1978 CJ5 with V8 and T-18 Transmission . Hydraulic clutch. I see conflicting opinions on this but here goes:
When I try to put it in 1st or Reverse, most often I have to grind the gears. Yes, I put it in 2nd gear first and that is absolutely necessary but I still have to jam it to get it in reverse or 1st. Is this normal? I've been putting up with it for a few years now and after taking a better look at my clutch setup, I'm really wondering if there is something that needs fixin'.

Hey Shoobester...
What throw out bearing do you have?
What master and slave cylinder? (different / inappropriate bore diamaters can cause this)
What is the bearing to pressure plate gap?
Has this always been this way?

We could have done it in the dirt and sand while doing my tank. :chug: CC5E0027-929F-4328-ACE3-4DFA7DE6DFC6.jpeg

Hey Shoobester...
What throw out bearing do you have?
What master and slave cylinder? (different / inappropriate bore diamaters can cause this)
What is the bearing to pressure plate gap?
Has this always been this way?
Master is 7/8, slave is 3/4, the guy at Novak said that’s not a problem. Bearing to plate gap? Not a good time to be asking me that! I have the stock throw out bearing I guess. Do they make more than 1 for the CJ?
It’s been doing this for a long time. I switched to hydraulic a few years ago.
I’m trying to psyche myself up to do something about it.
IMG_3399.jpeg

Novak makes a nice slave with bracket but the bracket flexes. They told me that it does that because I have a 3 finger pressure plate.

Attachments

• IMG_8626.mov
    11.2 MB
Hey belizian, is that the ledge where my front wheels came up and I had to back down and take the bypass?