help with motorcraft 2100

help with motorcraft 2100

hopefulcj

Jeeper
Thanks
Vehicle(s)
1980 CJ7-258 I6, MC 2100 carb, team rush upgrade, T4, D300 tcase, D30 w/aussie locker in the front, AMC20 open, I think PO put 4.88s in the diffs, 35,000-135,000 miles, you pick. 4"susp lift, 2" shackle, 35" <-BAD WORD-> cepek AT's on black steel wheels, 1 1/4" spydertrak wheel spacers, most everything else i believe is stock, finding things out as I go
Im so frustrated right now, I bought the carb/distributor package from the guy on ebay. At first everything looked great, he said it should just be plug and play, its been the opposite of that. I have double and tripple checked just about everything on the carb, however I am new to carbs. After the install and checking all the bolts I started it up and sprayed some carb cleaner around the carb and the hoses that I plugged, no change in idle. Its a 1980 CJ so I did not have to do the nutter bypass. I got it running, and it ran fine, I adjusted the timing to 8* and tuned the carb with a vacuum gauge, I got about 16 psi on each side. I took it for a spin and it ran great, smooth as a baby's bottom. Then the idle went down at a stop light, I had to pump the gas to keep it running. So I went home and checked the timimng, and carb, I had to adjust the idle on the carb, and in turn re-adjusted the timing ( yes I did unplug and plug the vacuum advance to the carb) at around 750 RPM. (this amazed me because with the carter, I could never get it down to 750 without bouncing all over the place) Anyway, I checked and cross-checked all the timings and tunings and RPMS, all were good. I took it out today and everytime I acclerated it wanted to die on me, I had acclerate very slowly to get any movement, I got a backfire or two out of the intake. I took it home and took off the intake and noticed that the butterfly is all the way open, even with the engine off. This is wrong right? I can push on the butterfly to close it and it springs back ope