Leak from Breather Valve

Leak from Breather Valve

WolfSpring

Jeeper
Thanks
Vehicle(s)
59 Willys CJ5 302 V8 C4 Transmision Automatic with Warn overdrive D44 Rear D25 Front Saginaw Steering 32s with a lift
Ok I am a noob, so please be gentle with me.

My jeep has a minor leak when I stop that accumulates on the ground. An inspection this morning(hadn't driven since last night) shown that the "breather valve" on my valve cover is a little lose and a small pool of oil had accumuated on the valve cover trickling from the breather. I called someone who knows enough about this stuff, explained it and he said it's a breather valve, if I'm wrong, my appologies. The round silver item under the overflow and to the left of the intake. You can even see some of the oil on there. So no one has this part local at the part shops, it's to hot to deal with a junk yard and I'm to lazy to go to a mechanic. my question:

1. As long as the oil is at the right level, how much driving can I do with this small leak from the breather?

4909268394_fff5e522bf.jpg

well as long as you keep in oil in it you can drive it forever. check to see how much oil you lose everyday then replace it. but the best thing is to fix it. you should have a pcv valve where that breather is the pcv valve should have a vacuum line that runs to the carb, or possibly to the intake manifold. i'm not that familiar with ford stuff so i can't tell you exactly where the vacuum line will connect.
here is an explanation of what a pcv valve is and what it does for you
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/PCV_valve

thanks for filling the profile fields
warn OD, you have a D18 Transfer Case
59 Dana 44 gives you a 19 spline count, oh you have a d25 front axle
see, that field really helps us as we can tell what we are dealing with mechanically.