Loose Shifter cable?

Loose Shifter cable?

JeepBoy

Jeeper
Thanks
Vehicle(s)
1981 Jeep CJ5
Hey guys I was just out driving my 1981 Jeep CJ5 and my stick shift seemed to have locked up right before I got home. I mean really locked up the thing will barely budge. I repeatedly tried the clutch to no avail, it's a 4 spd and was shifting absolutely perfect before this happened. I was wondering if the shift cable came loose or something.

If so what type of job would that be to fix? I'm a bit of a noob when it comes to repair. Also if you think it could be something else please let me know, thanks.

You probably have it locked in 4wd and have been driving on hard surfaces enough that you have a condition called Gear Bind. It will destroy your drivetrain if you keep driving it like that.
Very carefully roll the CJ in reverse as far as you can, while keeping pressure on the stick shift.Eventually it will pop out of gear. Then go unlock the front hubs and take it out of 4wd mode.

BTW, there is no cable shift CJ that I am aware of, and you do not have a CJ2 , as mentioned in your profile...:laugh:

Well I tried that this morning, turns out it wasn't even in 4 wheel drive. I did try rolling it to try and pop it out but the stick still won't budge (stuck in Neutral). Plenty of spring in the clutch, any other thoughts?

Is it stuck in neutral or jammed in gear? Will it coast or do you have to press in the clutch to move it?
I think you have a T-4 Transmission . It's a light duty tranny.
The shift mechanism in manual transmissions are made to disengage a gear before you go into neutral. I am thinking your Transmission is worn and you got it into neutral before you disengaged 2nd gear. Then the tranny jammed when you tried to get it into 3rd.
That's my guess. Where is the shift lever now? Try to get it into neutral.
I think your tranny may need a rebuild or replacement.
deadhorse.gif