Marking the flywheel and pressure plate?

Marking the flywheel and pressure plate?

Rollie

Jeeper
Thanks
Vehicle(s)
1975 CJ5, Basically stock except for electronic ignition.
I'm going to change out my clutch on my 1975 CJ5 here soon. I haven't changed one since the 70s, so I was reading my Haynes and my Chilton manual and they both said to mark the flywheel, clutch cover, and clutch plate with a punch so that they can go back together the same way they came apart. First of all, what it the difference between the clutch cover and the pressure plate? The second thing is if I'm going to replace everything and going to resurface the flywheel, why would marking it when I take it apart help me? As I remember changing the clutch was a pretty straight forward operation. Thanks.

I'm just a shadetree mechanic, but I've never marked one going on or off. Not sure why they say to do that, as they should be neutral balanced. The flywheel only goes on one way, sure, but you can just line it up by eye.

The clutch cover is the metal thing with springs and fingers, the pressure plate is the disc with the lining on it.

Really not necessary to mark them but I do anyway. Just my old ways of engine building... :) I mark everything!

The only thing i mark is the flywheel on the crank.. I dont think it matters but something inside says to do it.

I'm going to change out my clutch on my 1975 CJ5 here soon. I haven't changed one since the 70s, so I was reading my Haynes and my Chilton manual and they both said to mark the flywheel, clutch cover, and clutch plate with a punch so that they can go back together the same way they came apart. First of all, what it the difference between the clutch cover and the pressure plate? The second thing is if I'm going to replace everything and going to resurface the flywheel, why would marking it when I take it apart help me? As I remember changing the clutch was a pretty straight forward operation. Thanks.