Metal pin on my drain plug (CJ7 3 speed MT)

Metal pin on my drain plug (CJ7 3 speed MT)

AKR

Jeeper
Thanks
Vehicle(s)
1979 Jeep CJ7; 258ci straight 6, T-150 3 Speed, Dana 20 Xfer Caser, (not sure of diffs, the guy I bought it from said "solid axle").
I just bought this Jeep, and I am new to the Jeep world. Over the last 2 weeks I have spent hours upon hours trying to get this thing on the trail. The more I look at it, the more things I find that need attention. Tonight I decided to drain the tranny and xfer case (which both had about 1 quart total between the two).
Anyway, here is what was on the drain plug for the Tranny. Any idea what it may be?

I believe what you have there is a roller bearing. can you make a mark on it with a file?? as in, is it hard or soft. I do not think it is a drive pin.

Yah its hard.
Its only a matter of time before the rest fly off.

bearings don't usually go one at a time, when they get to the point of throwing rollers they usually go in a catastrophic manor. Take the cover off the top, not too hard a job, and see if you have any obvious slop anywhere.:D

welcome on to the path to enlightenment.

If owning a jeep was easy, everybody would own one.:D

I need the tranny out of the Jeep to do that, don't I? I might as well take it out anyway, since I need to rebuild the thing...

It may have been rebuilt and the rolleris just a small woops. it is easy to drop the rollers and hard to get them back out without dismantling a lot of what you just did. you didn't mention what Transmission you have, I am assuming it is a T-150 ?:cool:

I need the tranny out of the Jeep to do that, don't I? I might as well take it out anyway, since I need to rebuild the thing...

well its a 1979 CJ7 with 3 speed. That is all I know.
Plus the tranny leaks. I need to at least replace seals...

Excellent! Thank You.

One day I will drive this Jeep...