Need help with Headlight Upgrade

Need help with Headlight Upgrade

dvandebrake

Jeeper
Media
Thanks
Vehicle(s)
1995 Toyota T100 (awesome veh.)

1986 jeep cj7 with in-line 6 cyl. 258 5-speed manual trans.
Hi all,

Am currently doing the headlight upgrade, I will attach pics of what I have done so far. From the starter selinoid (red 12 Ga. wire) to the two relay's I plugged into pin #30 as shown in headlight upgrade thread. Now I ran a black wire (ground) from negative battery terminal to pin #85, (??? I have two diagrams of upgrade one says hook into #85 and one says hook into #86???).

Now I need to know how to plug old existing wires into new relays (low and high beam). I'm talking about the headlight switch wires and the floor high beam switch wires (i'm kind of lost, I'm no electrician). So If anyone has done this upgrade and are willing to help it will be apperciated.

Thanks,
Duane

Low beam from the HL switch to pin 86 of low beam relay.

High beam from dimmer on floor to pin 86 of high beam relay.

That is the two wires that used to go to the HL`s now go to pin 86 to trigger the relays.

Oh have another question,

Ok when I turn on headlights and check wires with multi-meter, the white wire shows 12.0 volts (hot). Also hot when I turn them on is the gray wire (shows 12.0 volts). These are the factory wires, do I plug both wires into #86 on relay?

Oh have another question,

Ok when I turn on headlights and check wires with multi-meter, the white wire shows 12.0 volts (hot). Also hot when I turn them on is the gray wire (shows 12.0 volts). These are the factory wires, do I plug both wires into #86 on relay?

Pin 86 needs 12 volts to trigger the relay.

So if your low beam is white........Pin 86 of Low Beam relay
So if your High Beam is Grey........Pin 86 of Hign Beam relay.

Or are you saying you have BOTH white and GREY hot at all times ? If so, then something is amiss with the factory harness,

Hi,