So many choices

So many choices

pauld3

Jeeper
Media
Thanks
Vehicle(s)
1992 Cherokee, 1976 cj5
So getting a 66 CJ5 and probably going with a 350 sbc and th 350 Transmission , no idea on Transfer Case , and want power steering and power brakes. No idea on what axles are under it yet ( dont pick it up till sat ) does this sound like the right track, have read that sbc not great on early cj5s due to room im guessing. Im new to cjs and this will not be an all out trail rig more daily driver and weekend toy and will probably end up as the sons first car so want it to be pretty reliable. we are planning on redoing it from the ground up and any recommenditions are appreciated.
thanks
paul

So getting a 66 CJ5 and probably going with a 350 sbc and th 350 Transmission , no idea on Transfer Case , and want power steering and power brakes. No idea on what axles are under it yet ( dont pick it up till sat ) does this sound like the right track, have read that sbc not great on early cj5s due to room im guessing. Im new to cjs and this will not be an all out trail rig more daily driver and weekend toy and will probably end up as the sons first car so want it to be pretty reliable. we are planning on redoing it from the ground up and any recommenditions are appreciated.
thanks
paul

I've done the Chevy V8 swap it's very common, either self fab'ed or Many people make kits. Like "Novak" & "Advaned Adapters". I've used both & they are of high quality. I have never built a automatic rig & a 80" wheelbase might be on the tight side.

The only clearence issues I have with my sbc conversion is the amount of space between fan and radiator. It is very tight! I eventually want to install an electric fan. Mine is a 68' Good luck on your project. Son's first vehicle? Wow, lucky kid!

thanks for the support. I would like a manual over the automatic but kinda out voted on that one. hes going to get just as dirty as i am maybe more, should we go with a d 18 Transfer Case or any other ideas,