Where do I start?

Where do I start?

Blackdog314

Jeeper
Thanks
Vehicle(s)
1974 CJ5 I6 Free!!!
I was lucky enough to inherit a 1974 CJ5 on my new property. It doesn't run but I turned the crank pulley so it's not seized at least. Have no info about it except that it has the AMC I6 AMC 258 i6 / 4.2l and a three speed. Also I don't have the key so it will need a new ignition and gas cap. So other than a tuneup and changing all the fluids and flushing the gas tank what would be next? I am a complete newbie on carbs (most of my knowledge is in the toyota 22re) and jeeps in general. Thanks all!

welcome
if you get stuck on the key situation just PM me
i will help as much as i can

flushing the tank is a good idea, an even better one is dropping it, cleaning the tank and replacing the in tank screen/filter and blowing out the lines. Did you say you needed a gas cap?? I don't even want to think about what is in the bottom of your tank.:eek:

:ww:from the Republic of Texas.

you can either find a locksmith in your area ( around $20 )
drill the lock out ( possible shavings in t tank )
dent snatch the lock...... then turn

Welcome!

Nice score. You can pull the filler neck - 2 bolts and a hose clamp and drill away on that gas cap lock in your bench vise.

Ignition switch is a piece of cake to replace. Not that expensive either. Hold the chrome ring and push and twist the switch from the back side. Unplug and pop in the new one.

They didn't put them in the column until 76.

Lots a good features in the Intermediate years (72-75). Lots of advise can be found on this site.

Welcome!

Nice score. You can pull the filler neck - 2 bolts and a hose clamp and drill away on that gas cap lock in your bench vise.

Ignition switch is a piece of cake to replace. Not that expensive either. Hold the chrome ring and push and twist the switch from the back side. Unplug and pop in the new one.

They didn't put them in the column until 76.