Where is the vent?

Where is the vent?

Rollie

Jeeper
Thanks
Vehicle(s)
1975 CJ5, Basically stock except for electronic ignition.
First of all, let me start by saying that even though it sounds sometimes like I am clueless, I do have some mechanical abilities. I'm a licensed airplane mechanic. But as far as CJ5s, I guess you could say that I am clueless. I bought this old CJ5 and drove it home last weekend. First of all it has almost no rust. Looking at it closer, I'm pretty sure the tub has been replaced along the way. The vent in front of the windshield is missing. I'm guessing that is where the fresh air comes in, and it could be the reason that it felt like the heater was on during my eight hour drive home at 45 mph. So my question is what to do now? I'm assuming that if there was a vent, there would have to be some sort of airbox under it, and I'm also assuming that there is some sort of way it drains rainwater out of there. Does anyone know where there is a diagram or picture, or description of that whole system so that I can see what I might need to do in order to get it working? Where could I get parts for it? Do I even need to get it working? If the body was replaced, why wasn't there a vent in the new body? Thanks.

Rollie

My guess would be in a repair manual, they are made by a few different outfits, then there is the factory service manual. The fsm would probably be your best bet, possibly someone reading this post could send you a download. My heater went into the trash years ago, after all it is a Jeep.