YJ 4.2 into a CJ7

YJ 4.2 into a CJ7

Thunder81

Jeeper
Thanks
Vehicle(s)
1984 CJ7, 4.2, T5, 300, Dana 30/AMC 20
Hello
Guess I'm new here so I'll tell you a bit about myself before I ask my question.
Heh where to start...
I'm pretty new to jeeps I guess. My 4x4 experience is mostly gravel roads with a bit of mud bogging and winter driving. I'm 29 and have bought my first real Jeep that being an 84 CJ7 . The body is in awesome shape for being 27+ years old. Oh yeah, I live in Alberta Canada...

So my question is
The current engine in my CJ is the stock AMC 258 i6 / 4.2l but it's in pretty rough shape. I found a good deal on a low milage AMC 258 i6 / 4.2l but its from a YJ.
I've been searching all morning and know that a CJ4 .2 will fit in a YJ but will a YJ AMC 258 i6 / 4.2l go into a CJ no problem?

Thanks
Ken

Yeah they are the same motor, with maybe a few very minor changes but it will fit with little to no problems. The only minor changes might be in the emissions, and fuel delivery. But you can use all of your cj stuff on the motor to be sure everything is right.

Sent from my DROID2

Cheepjeep is right. This was just Chrysler running out the inventory of 4.2s they had. There may be some slight differences in bracketry but you have everything you should need right there in your own engine bay. :chug:

Depending on what year, that engine could be a serpentine belt settup. I swapped an '88 YJ AMC 258 i6 / 4.2l into my '84 CJ and discovered that most of the earlier AMC 258 i6 / 4.2l 's are V-belt set up.

Just wanted you to be aware. Make sure you get all the accesories from the YJ engine...It's hard to mix and match V-belt and serp pully parts. I found that out the hard way, it was a nightmare trying to locate all the proper pulleys.