Front Hubs & Towing

Front Hubs & Towing

BusaDave9

Always Off-Roading Jeeper
Thanks
Vehicle(s)
1979 Jeep CJ5 with 304 V8, T18 Transmission, Dana 20 Transfer case with TeraLow 3:1 gears, 4.88 axle gears, Detroit Locker up front and Ox Locker in back with 1 piece axle shafts, 36" SuperSwamper SX Tires, Shackle reversal, MileMarker Hydraulic winch, MSD 6A ignition.
I have always thought the front hubs should be unlocked when getting towed. This keeps the front axle and diff from rotating.
Then I got TeraLow gears for my transfer case and the instructions say when towing to put the transfer case in neutral and lock the front hubs. They underlined it for emphasis.
Of course the gear ratio in the T Case shouldn't make the difference. Does anyone know why it would be better to have the front hubs locked while towing?

I'm just guessing since I have no experience with the TerraLow gears, But I'd imagine the design requires the front and rear driveshafts to rotate at the same time for some reason. Don't forget the rear driveshaft (unless you disconnect or remove it completely) will still be rotating the gears in the TC. So my guess is there is an oiling requirement for the front gears, nessitating the front hubs be locked.
Whatever the reason, If they say it (and underline it even) then I'd just do it. Your drivetrain has changed from stock, so the normal requirements/instructions have changed and are void.

Originally I thought getting towed with the hubs unlocked was like driving in two wheel drive.